Chocolate Chip Cookie Tart

While I love cooking & baking, I am very picky about the type of sweets that I eat. I love chocolate chip cookies for example, but I also like them to be chewy in the inside, crispy in the outside, not too sweet, and I prefer them to be warm. I have had some experiences in the past with chocolate chip cooking dough recipes, but I decided to try this Martha Stewart’s adaptation, in the form of a tart. We were invited to a friend’s house for dinner, there were three other couples and three kids… so I thought this would be a perfect dessert to take! The best part of it was that I can put this in the oven while we’re enjoying dinner, and then when we’re done with our meals, we have a perfect dessert waiting for us! Right out of the oven!

This recipe actually fits perfectly to what I would call an ideal chocolate chip cookie! Red wanted to make sure that he had a piece to take home since everyone else loved it!


Ingredients

Makes one 9-inch tart or pie plus about 1 dozen cookies

2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, room temperature
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1 cup packed light-brown sugar
1 teaspoon salt
2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
2 large eggs
2 cups semisweet and/or milk chocolate chips, (about 12 ounces)
Vegetable-oil cooking spray

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 325 degrees. Spray a 9-inch tart pan with a removable bottom or a 9-inch pie tin with vegetable-oil cooking spray; set aside. In a small bowl, whisk together the flour and baking soda; set aside. In the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, combine the butter with both sugars; beat on medium speed until light and fluffy. Reduce speed to low; add the salt, vanilla, and eggs. Beat until well mixed, about 1 minute. Add flour mixture; mix until just combined. Stir in the chocolate chips.
  2. Press 3 cups of this dough into prepared pan. Bake until edges are golden and center is almost set, 40 to 45 minutes. Let cool at least 20 minutes, and remove from pan. Bake remaining dough as cookies at 350 degrees for 8 to 10 minutes.

3 Responses to Chocolate Chip Cookie Tart

  1. bakingblonde says:

    This sounds amazing!

  2. […] care for chocolate very much. So back to my dad and his chocolate chip cookies. I have a recipe already that I think is pretty good; but I thought that I’d try the recipe from the back of […]

  3. […] birthday treat for Red, who’s a self-proclaimed “cookie lover”. I even made this Chocolate Chip Cookie Tart instead of a regular birthday cake. And yes, while it was as good as I made it the last time, which […]

Leave a comment