Best Buttermilk Pancakes

Red and I love leisurely breakfast on the weekend… so much that sometimes we have a couple courses of breakfast meals. Usually, since I am not too patient with waiting 30 minutes or an hour until something is ready (depending on what I will make); I will start off with a cup of coffee or orange juice and a tiny slice of this super duper Easy Banana Bread, that I may bake a few days prior to the weekends. And then I will start baking or making my second breakfast course. Pancakes are definitely one of my favorite meals, breakfast or dinners. I love these sweet and tangy Banana Sour Cream Pancakes; but I needed to use up my buttermilk in the refrigerator – and I happened to have a pint of blueberries and no ripe bananas.

These pancakes were hands down “out of these world”. Red was like, “Why haven’t we tried these sooner?” I shook my head in agreement. They were fluffy and light, not too sweet, pretty much “melt in your mouth”. They are in the little bit flat, so if you’re looking for “cakey” pancakes – these are not for you. I didn’t change a thing about this recipe. I think they’re almost a cross between the “cakey” pancakes and crepes, but they were to die for. Definitely a big favorite at our house, and I will be making these again soon! I added blueberries to mine; and I am sure that they will be fantastic with other add-ins as well, like dried cranberries or other fruits, chocolate chips… the possibilities are endless! Happy eating!

Adapted from Martha Stewart

Ingredients

2 cups all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
3 tablespoons sugar
2 large eggs, lightly beaten
3 cups buttermilk
4 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted, plus 1/2 teaspoon for griddle

Directions

Heat griddle to 375 degrees if you use electric; or regular pan on the stove. Whisk together all of the dry ingredients in a medium bowl. Add all liquid ingredients; whisk to combine. Batter should have small to medium lumps. Do not over-mix – and leave those lumps alone. Don’t try to mix them into the batter.

Test griddle by sprinkling a few drops of water on it. If water bounces and spatters off griddle, it is hot enough. Brush remaining 1/2 teaspoon of butter onto pan or griddle. Wipe off excess with a paper towel.

Heat your oven to 200 degrees.

Using a 4-ounce ladle, about 1/2 cup, pour pancake batter, in pools 2 inches away from one other. When pancakes have bubbles on top and are slightly dry around edges, about 2 1/2 minutes, flip over. Cook until golden on bottom, about 1 minute. They will spread, make sure that you don’t over-crowd the griddle/pan.

Repeat with remaining batter, keeping finished pancakes on a heatproof plate in oven. Serve warm.

Yield: 9 6-inch pancakes

One Response to Best Buttermilk Pancakes

  1. Carla says:

    I love those pancakes! Wow, delicious!

Leave a Reply

