Simply Sinful Cinnamon Muffins

I loooove everything with cinnamon. There is something so homey and cozy about the smell of cinnamon. It reminds me a little bit of Christmas, homemade goodies, and just spending some quality time with my family in the kitchen. I saw the recipe last year and kept on hoping that I would have the opportunity to find cinnamon chips from my local grocery stores. But no luck; and I refuse to buy one single bag of cinnamon chips online (we’ll see how long this last!). So I went ahead and tried this recipe using butterscotch chips (because I love those as well!) since I can find those. I made several substitutions as you will see reflected in the recipe below.

A few things that I learned from this recipe: I opted the liner instead of putting the batter directly in to the muffin tins–and had some issue with some spillage of the filling. Next time, I would definitely spray the tins and put paper liners to avoid some sticky messiness on the muffins and everywhere else.  I also used the standard size muffin tins and ended up with 15 muffins instead of 12 as the recipe suggested (if I insisted on 12, the batter would have been everywhere). I had leftover filling and topping, although trust me  — I really  tried to pile them on without making too much of a mess, which was somewhat successful. Other than the messy fingers which is a bit convenience for office eating, I thought it was excellent recipe. I really loved the flavor and enjoyed the butterscotch variation, although I would have loved to taste the heightened cinnamon flavor from the chips (therefore, I will continue to be in the lookout for those cinnamon chips!). I skipped the glaze–I really didn’t think that it needed it. On a final note, because I substituted all purpose flour for white wheat flour, my muffins were a bit on the dense side. I overcame this by warming them up in the microwave for 10-15 seconds–and they were back to their heavenly out of the oven goodness.  They took a little bit of time to prepare; but they were worth the time. These would be a great treat for cinnamon lovers! Happy Baking!
Adapted from King Arthur Flour

Ingredients

Topping
1/3 cup brown sugar, packed
1/4 cup diced pecans
1/4 cup rolled oats
1/2 cup all purpose flour (I used white wheat flour)
3 tablespoons soft butter

Filling
3 to 4 tablespoons water
3 tablespoons butter
1/2 cup brown sugar
1- 1/2 tablespoons ground cinnamon

Batter
1/2 cup (1 stick) butter, melted
3/4 cup milk
2 large eggs
1 3/4 cups all-purpose Flour
1/2 cup rolled oats
2 tablespoons cornstarch
3/4 cup granulated sugar
1 tablespoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg
1/2 cup cinnamon chips or butterscotch chips (I used butterscotch chips)

Directions

Preheat your oven to 400°F. Line a 12-cup muffin pan with cupcake papers, or grease it lightly.

Prepare the topping by mixing the ingredients together until crumbly. Set aside.

Prepare the filling by mixing the Baker’s Cinnamon Filling with enough water to make filling with a soft, pudding-like consistency. Set it aside.

To make the batter:

In a large bowl, whisk together the melted butter, milk, and eggs. In a separate bowl, whisk together the dry ingredients, including the chips. Add the dry mixture to the liquid, stirring just until combined.

Divide half the batter evenly among the muffin cups. Dollop 2 teaspoons cinnamon filling onto each muffin, then top with the remaining batter. Sprinkle with topping, pressing it in lightly.

Bake the muffins for 20 to 25 minutes, or until they’re golden brown. Remove them from the oven, and wait 5 minutes before transferring them from the pan to a rack to cool.

Yield: 12 muffins

8 Responses to Simply Sinful Cinnamon Muffins

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Blissfully Delicious, Blissfully Delicious. Blissfully Delicious said: Simply Sinful Cinnamon Muffins http://wp.me/pB12D-qO […]

  2. says:

    I’ve seen that king arthur recipe before. I wanted to try it and I’m glad someone did:)

  3. Stephanie says:

    Cinnamon is my favorite spice (my rabbit is even named after it). These muffins sound great! I’ve never seen cinnamon chips either but now I’m going to keep an eye out for them. I wonder if it’s possible to make them from scratch…

  4. I’m absolutely obsessed with cinnamon as well. I’m def. going to have to make these.

  5. […] bit different this time was that I had a little bit of streussel leftover from making this yummy Simply Sinful Cinnamon Muffins, so I used that on top–and oh wow, I realized what I had been missing all of these times! […]

Leave a Reply

