Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

I know my recent posts have all been dessert; but I do eat other things in addition to dessert 🙂 I was basically lured into trying this recipe because I kept on seeing it advertised on every magazine that I was reading at that time. I couldn’t remember when the last time I had pulled pork and never made it before; so I wanted to give this a try.

I didn’t have a boneless pork butt, so I used a bone-in version, and let it cook for 12 hrs. It was super tender, fell apart beautifully and was ridiculously delicious. I sprinkled some smoked paprika as well to give it a bit more spiciness to it, and it was perfect.  I love that it makes so much and  they froze and reheated well.  I  served it with this Carolina Cole Slaw and used store-bought barbecue sauce (although I think they were delicious without it as well. What could be more perfect winter meal than this? Happy eating! 🙂

Ingredients
1 5-pound boneless pork butt (shoulder) –I used a bone-in version that I think made it even more flavorful!
1 1/2 teaspoons smoked paprika
2 teaspoons black pepper
1 teaspoon cayenne
1 teaspoon dried thyme
1 teaspoon garlic powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 cup water
Soft sandwich buns

Directions
Combine all the seasonings in a small bowl and rub evenly over roast. Place meat in a 6-quart slow cooker. Add water. Cover and cook on LOW for 6-8 hours or HIGH for 4-5 hours or until pork is very tender.

Remove pork to a large cutting board or platter and let rest for 10-15 minutes. Pull, slice or chop to serve. Serve in buns with barbecue sauce.

Makes 16-20 servings

3 Responses to Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

  1. sippitysup says:

    Pulled pork! I bet the bone in added flavor too especially with 12 hours of slow cooking. Fabulous. GREG

  2. h2babe says:

    Yes-after trying this bone-in version, I dont think that I will go back to the boneless (lost too much flavor that way!!).

  3. I have been craving pulled pork sandwiches so bad for the past few days and your mouthwatering picture isn’t helping much!! This sounds like a great recipe.

Leave a Reply

