Fried Mashed Potato Balls

Holidays at our house always means tons of food and leftover mashed potatoes! I have a rotating mix-in for the mashed potatoes, depending on who’s making it, but they’re usually choke full of butter, garlic, and sour cream. This recipe was just something that I came up with on my own while trying to rejuvenate our leftover mashed potato. It is great addition for breakfast, brunch, and of course dinner–and even better for just an afternoon pick me up snack. Sometimes I add different things like leftover bacon bits or ham, or cheese… but they’re also great just with a handful of chopped green onions. I have always made them with panko instead of regular bread crumbs, which I think really helps the mixture stay together and not fall apart during frying. They’re so addictive and versatile that sometimes I throw in extra potatoes when making mashed potatoes to ensure that I have leftover for these….Happy eating!!

EDIT: A great sauce to accompany these wonderful little snacks is Garlic Mayonaisse that I used  with my Sweet Potato Fries w/ Basil Salt.

Ingredients
3 cups stiff mashed potatoes (preferably cold)
2 medium-size eggs
1/4 cup of sliced green onions
1-1/2 cups of panko
Oil for frying

Directions
Heat about 1-1/2 inch of flavorless oil to about 375 degree in a shallow frying pan (you want something with a pretty good surface area since the balls need to be fried in smaller batches to ensure that they’re not crowded).

Beat the two eggs lightly in a medium-sized bowl. Mix in the mashed potatoes and green onions. Using a 1-1/2 inch ice-cream scoop, make potato balls. Roll them onto a plate of panko.

Fry the potato balls a few at a time, and let each side turn into golden brown color, about 2-3 minutes total. Don’t attempt to flip them until the crust is developed and browned. Then flip to the other side, and let brown. Serve warm.

Yield: 28 potato balls

35 Responses to Fried Mashed Potato Balls

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Yudith Meade, Yudith Meade. Yudith Meade said: Fried Mashed Potato Balls: http://wp.me/pB12D-p6 […]

  2. adamswife06 says:

    I ALWAYS make too many mashed potatoes and 99% of the time they end up going to waste, this will be a great way to use them up.

  3. Chef Dennis says:

    those mashed potato balls look delicious!! but really whats not to like about mashed potatoes any way you serve them!
    thanks for such a creative use, I always have leftover mashed and neve quite sure what to do with them!
    Cheers
    Dennis

  4. Christine says:

    A great way to use leftover mashed potatoes! I like to dip them in egg whites then fry it instead of using bread crumbs.

  5. Um, YUM! Cool idea. I’ve never had fried mashed potato balls, but what’s not to like?!

  6. Grumpy Goat says:

    Cool idea. Do you dip them in anything or eat as is?

    • h2babe says:

      I was going to make dipping sauce w/ them, but was too lazy 😉 But yes, I think they will be great w/ ranch or mayo-based dressing/dip. Even vinegar-based. Very versatile really!

  7. YES! My grandfather and I always saute our leftover mashed potatoes, but this looks even better! Thank you 🙂

  8. J says:

    I absolutly LOVE mashed potatoes… and this takes the cake on the dinner plate tomorrow!

  9. oh these would be perfect as an appie at a party. Have you had deep-fried macaroni and cheese balls? Very similar and very good!

    http://www.sweetwhimsyblog.wordpress.com

  10. Jen says:

    Wow these sound great! I like the versatility and that they can be added to just about any meal or eaten as a snack. bravo!

  11. Babygirl says:

    Let me just say how much I love this post and this recipe. This is sooo great. I have to make these.

  12. photoshtuff says:

    Oh my goodness what a great idea! I’m definitely gonna try this the next time I have leftover mashed potatoes!

  13. This sounds delicious! 🙂

  14. I’ve had these before…they are wonderful with a bit of gravy in the center too! 🙂

  15. rsmacaalay says:

    Looks like those balls are tasty, will replace my chips with this one

  16. gftaster says:

    I wonder if I can make these without egg. hmmm… I hope so!

    • h2babe says:

      The eggs function as a binding agent to hold the mashed potatoes together; so I think there is a risk that they won’t stay together when fried without the eggs. It may work if you bake them instead of fry? Let me know if you try it without the egg, I’d love to know how it turns out!

  17. […] Fried Mashed Potato Balls (via Blissfully Delicious) Posted on January 17, 2011 by inislamicworld Holidays at our house always means tons of food and leftover mashed potatoes! I have a rotating mix-in for the mashed potatoes, depending on who's making it, but they're usually choke full of butter, garlic, and sour cream. This recipe was just something that I came up with on my own while trying to rejuvenate our leftover mashed potato. It is great addition for breakfast, brunch, and of course dinner–and even better for just an afternoon pick m … Read More […]

  18. Sounds delicious and its a great party-food idea! Some extras like curry or sumac could make them even a bit colourful and could spice them up a a little, i guess,

    But green onion is yum yum, and I guess im trying this one out! Thank u for the idea!

  19. bluemixer says:

    I can’t believe I didn’t think of this! Amazing!

Leave a Reply

