Old Fashioned Sugar Cookies


My sister loves plain old sugar cookies. She actually prefers them without icing (… she also prefers the cone instead of the ice cream; which is fine by me, I will take her ice-cream!). I decided to try these old fashioned sugar cookies for her. I eliminated the lemon zest and juice, and replaced it with vanilla because I was really looking for plain sugar cookies without any lemony flavor. And I think I really found it! These cookies were thinner–and really spread during baking. They were crisp in the outside and chewy in the center. I used a 2-inch ice-cream scoop but made sure that I had generous scoops; and ended up about 26 cookies that had diameter of about 4-5 inches.

I was pretty happy with the result; and this recipe is definitely a keeper in my recipe box. This is great not just for the holidays- but all through the year. Happy eating!

Slightly Adapted from Martha Stewart Cookies

Ingredients
3 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 3/4 cups granulated sugar
1/4 cup packed light-brown sugar
1 tablespoon finely grated lemon zest, plus 1 tablespoon fresh lemon juice
1 cup unsalted butter, (2 sticks), softened
2 large eggs
1 tsp vanilla (my add)
Sanding sugar, for sprinkling

Directions
Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Sift flour, baking soda, and salt into a bowl; set aside.
Mix butter and sugar until pale and fluffy in a mixer with paddle attachment, about 2-3 minute. Mix in eggs, 1 at a time, and then vanilla extract. Reduce speed; gradually add flour mixture, and mix until just combined.
Scoop dough using a 2-inch ice cream scoop; space cookies 2 inches apart on parchment-lined baking sheets. Flatten cookies slightly with a spatula. Sprinkle tops with sanding sugar, then lightly brush with a wet pastry brush; sprinkle with more sanding sugar.
Bake cookies until golden, about 15 minutes. Let cool on sheets on wire racks for 5 minutes. Transfer cookies to racks using a spatula; let cool completely. Cookies can be stored in an airtight container at room temperature up to 3 days.

Yield: 26 large cookies

12 Responses to Old Fashioned Sugar Cookies

  1. innasinventions says:

    Yum! These look delicious!

  2. These sound good — very similar to my mom’s recipe, which is my favorite. I like my sugar cookies unfrosted, too! 🙂

  3. Babygirl says:

    Very nice.. they look delicious

  4. Megan says:

    THANK YOU! I’ve been looking for the perfect sugar cookie recipe (one you don’t have to roll out and use cookie cutters) to make for xmas–and I think these are perfect!

  5. rsmacaalay says:

    Nothing beats an old fashioned recipe thats tried and tested

    Raymund
    http://angsarap.wordpress.com

  6. […] (I found this recipe on Blissfully Delicious. I also want to add that I was super excited to find this particular recipe because it […]

  7. […] Old Fashioned Sugar Cookies (via Blissfully Delicious) Posted on January 17, 2011 by inislamicworld My sister loves plain old sugar cookies. She actually prefers them without icing (… she also prefers the cone instead of the ice cream; which is fine by me, I will take her ice-cream!). I decided to try these old fashioned sugar cookies for her. I eliminated the lemon zest and juice, and replaced it with vanilla because I was really looking for plain sugar cookies without any lemony flavor. And I think I really found it! These cookies were thin … Read More […]

Leave a Reply

