Easy Zucchini Bread

Who doesn’t have access to great zucchini in the summer? As expected, we found a couple of beautiful zucchinis in our CSA share a couple of weeks.  As soon as I saw them, I knew that I wanted to make them into bread. While I really enjoyed this Zucchini Bread’s recipe from Heidi Swanson, I wanted something a little bit quicker, and it’s always good to have a quick go-to recipe for your busy summers. Happy eating!

Slightly adapted from Betty Crocker’s New Cookbook

Ingredients
1-1/2 cups of shredded zucchini, squeezed (~2 medium)
2 large eggs
1/3 cups of flavorless oil + 2 tbsp of unsweetened apple sauce
3/4 cup of sugar
1 tsp of vanilla
1-1/2 cups of white whole wheat flour (or if you use all purpose flour, omit the apple sauce)
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
1/8 tsp ground cloves
1/4 tsp baking powder
1/4 cup coarsely chopped nuts
1/4 cup raisins, optional (I used craisins)

Directions
Preheat oven to 350 deg F. Grease bottom of 8-1/2 X 4-1/2 X 2-1/2 inches pan. Mix the first five ingredients in a large bowl. Mix the rest of the ingredients together, do not over-mix.

Bake for 50-60 min (I would start checking at 40 min to make sure that it is not over-baked).

Yield: 1 8×3-inch loaf

5 Responses to Easy Zucchini Bread

  1. Yum, I just adore zucchini bread. This recipe looks so simple, which is what I’m all about! Thanks for sharing! 🙂

  2. Mollie says:

    What would be an example of flavorless oil?

  3. Mollie says:

    Yes! We have several types of oils. No problem. Great recipe! I’ll give it a try. Thanks!!

  4. […] my favorite quick bread recipe with cranberry and grated orange zest.  This is a variation of my Easy Zucchini Bread, so I knew that this recipe […]

Leave a Reply

