Carolina Cole Slaw

Red and I grill a lot during the summer, and sometimes we go fancy–but most of the time, we go for the basic like burgers and brats. I really love cole-slaw as a side salad, but I wanted a variation that doesn’t use any mayo. I made some tweaks to this recipe that I found on an old magazine, and added a few of my additions. And the result was a really light and refreshing salad, with clear flavor and just enough tang to to give my taste buds a little wake up call. The only thing that I was looking for was a little bit more heat to the dressing, which next time, I would have to try to experiment. We enjoyed this at home with our burgers, but I think they would be great for picnics since it doesn’t have any mayo in it, and would be fantastic on pulled pork. Happy eating!

Adapted from Bon Appetit, 1996

Ingredients
1/2 cup distilled white vinegar
2 tablespoons apple cider vinegar
6 tablespoons sugar
6 tablespoons vegetable oil
3 teaspoons dry mustard
1 teaspoon celery seeds
1-1/4 pounds mixed cole slaw vegetable

Directions
Combine vinegar, sugar, oil, mustard and celery seeds in non-aluminum medium saucepan. Stir over medium heat until sugar dissolves and dressing comes to boil. Remove from heat. Season with salt and pepper. Cool completely.

Put the vegetable in a large bowl and add dressing; toss to coat. Cover; refrigerate until cold, tossing occasionally, at least 2 hours.

(Can be made1 day ahead. Cover; keep refrigerated.)

7 Responses to Carolina Cole Slaw

  1. Cate says:

    This looks like an awesome coleslaw recipe, and I especially love that there’s no mayo in it!

  2. Mollie says:

    I am going to give this a try for our 4th of July party!

  3. Mollie says:

    I made this today for a 4th of July party. I didn’t use all of the dressing because I thought it was too much. I reserved about 3 tablespoons to use as a dressing for another salad.

    This dish is really delicious!! I didn’t have celery seed, but I did have celery salt and I think it turned out fine. Very light and you can taste the salad still. An excellent recipe I will keep!

  4. […] I love that it makes so much and  they froze and reheated well.  I  served it with this Carolina Cole Slaw and used store-bought barbecue sauce (although I think they were delicious without it as well. What […]

Leave a Reply

