Roasted Banana Cinnamon Rolls

Red loves cinnamon rolls.  And I love anything with bananas. When I saw this recipe on Picky Palate, I knew that we had to make this very soon. I love bananas, so I used three bananas, and even that–I felt like I could have used more. In the future, I think I would probably add another two bananas. Depending on the ripeness of the bananas, you can also adjust the amount of sugar used. These rolls were absolutely to die for! I know that we’ll be making this again soon.

Ingredients
1 tube of Pillsbury French Bread Roll (I used my cinnamon roll dough)
3 ripe bananas cut into 1/4 inch slices
2 tablespoons butter, cut into small pieces
2 tablespoons brown sugar
4 tablespoons softened butter
1/2 cup brown sugar
1-1/2 tablespoons ground cinnamon
1 cup powdered sugar
2 tablespoons milk

Directions
Preheat oven to 425 degrees F.  Place banana slices and cut up pieces of butter into a small baking dish.  Sprinkle with brown sugar and bake for 25 minutes or until golden and bubbly.  Remove and let cool for 10 minutes.  Next, use a fork to smash roasted bananas until well combined.

Reduce heat to 350 degrees F.  Unroll dough into rectangle.  Spread with softened butter and sprinkle with brown sugar and cinnamon.  Place dollops of roasted banana mixture evenly over top.  Starting from long end, roll up into log shape.  Using a sharp knife, cut 1 inch slices and place onto a parchment lined baking sheet.  Bake for 25-30 minutes or until just turning golden brown.  Remove and let cool for 10 minutes.

Whisk powdered sugar and heavy cream until combined; drizzle over top of warm rolls.

Yield: 12 rolls

2 Responses to Roasted Banana Cinnamon Rolls

  1. brannyboilsover says:

    What an interesting recipe. Glad you enjoyed it!

  2. Cherine says:

    Those are mouthwatering!

Leave a Reply

