MSC: Tres Leches Cupcakes

While I love chocolate, especially the dark type, I actually prefer other flavor than chocolate for my cakes, yea I know, kind of weird right? We didn’t even have chocolate for our wedding cupcakes (we had everything but chocolate!) Lisa from Smiley’s Sweet and Creations chose Tres Leches Cupcakes on page 48 for our May’s selection, and I was thrilled to be able to try this recipe this month, especially since I had to miss last month’s bake off.

There were a few surprises from this recipe that I experienced along the way. I was able to only come up with 14 cupcakes instead of 20 as the recipe stated. I usually tend to have a few extra more than what the recipe calls for, so that was odd. The milk mixture also way too much for my 14 cupcakes–therefore my cupcakes were, well, soaked and literally dripped with this milk mixture through the liners. I used probably 1/2 cup at the most of the milk mixture, and they were a bit messy to eat, so this isn’t exactly a dessert that would be convenient to eat… it’s actually kind of messy.

I asked Red what he thinks of this cupcake and his response is: “Well, it’s different, kind of sweet but dense.” I love how it tastes: just enough hint of sweetness with milk flavor, but I am not particularly crazy about the texture. I love my cupcakes light and well, fluffy. Don’t forget to check out the other members’ creation here. Have a great weekend everyone!!

7 Responses to MSC: Tres Leches Cupcakes

  1. marthaandme says:

    I wasn’t wild about this one either. Maybe your egg white mix deflated when you mixed in the other stuff – that would explain why you didn’t have enough for 20 cupcakes.

  2. Tracey says:

    Your cupcake looks terrific! I had the same feeling about the texture – it was really unappealing to me. Still fun to make 🙂

  3. Julie says:

    Your cupcakes look beautiful. They were different but we liked them. I see you’re taking Wilton classes, me too. Debating whether to take Class #3 or not.

  4. sarah says:

    looks good! i used the full milk mixture and they were SOAKED!

  5. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Yudith Meade. Yudith Meade said: MSC: Tres Leches Cupcakes: http://wp.me/pB12D-fL […]

  6. Monica L. says:

    I was worried about how much liquid there was in the bowl. I ended up not using all of it. I actually got 16 cpcakes. Funny. Great job!

  7. Clivia says:

    They were messy, but we enjoyed them. Yours looks lovely!

Leave a Reply

