Tri-Berry Muffins

I have hit a rut with my breakfast routine lately and have been craving breakfast breads and muffins. I wanted something portable that I can also take to work! There’s my go to Easy Banana Bread, but then I also love muffins. I thought these berry muffins would be a great one to try especially since I have frozen berries from last summer. I was a bit worried about using frozen berries, since they tend to bleed more than fresh berries.  I thawed them, dried them as much as I could with paper towels, and rolled them in a little bit of flour. They still bled through more than I had expected; but the taste was out of the world. It had enough crunch on the outside with just the right amount of moistness in the center.

If you want to try other muffin recipes, check out:

Blueberry Coffee Cake Muffins
Banana Crunch Muffins
Cranberry Harvest Muffins

Adapted from Barefoot Contessa at Home

Ingredients
3 cups of all purpose flour
1 tbsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp kosher salt
1-1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
1-1/4 cup milk
2 extra large eggs, lightly beaten
2 sticks of unsalted butter, melted
1 cup fresh blueberries
1/2 cup fresh raspberries
1/2 cup fresh strawberries, diced
1-1/2 cups sugar

Directions
Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Line muffin tins with paper liners.
Sift the flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt and cinnamon together in a large bowl. Stir with your hand to be sure the ingredients are all combined.
In another bowl, combine the milk, eggs, and melted butter. Make a well in the middle of the dry mixture, pour the wet mixture into the well, and stir until just combined. There will be some lumps but don’t overmix the batter! Add all of the berries, and sugar. Stir gently until combined.
Spoon batter into the muffin cups, and bake for 20-25 minutes (or until a cake tested comes out clean and the tops are nicely browned).

Yield: 18-20 muffins

Leave a Reply

