Chicken Salad

Red introduced me to this fantastic chicken salad when we first started dating over four years ago; and I was hooked from the first bite. I had already loved chicken salad before we met; and his version had more fabulous additions that I loved even more: chopped apple, sliced grapes, blue cheese and toasted walnuts. This is definitely one of our favorite lunches in the summer: it is hearty, crunchy and full of summer flavors. He has made this recipe for so long that he can’t even remember where he adapted this recipe from; but it’s definitely a keeper and will continue to be a regular at our house.

Source: Blissfully Delicious Original

Ingredients
2 cups cubed grilled chicken (marinated with olive oil, sprinkled with salt, pepper and tarragon)
1 cups sliced seedless grapes
1 cups chopped Granny Smith apple (unpeeled)
2 stalks of celery, chopped
2 cups low-fat mayo
1/2 cup of blue cheese
1 cup of chopped toasted walnuts

Directions
Mix everything together in a 2-quart bowl using a plastic spatula.
Serve them on your favorite sandwich bread, wrap or lettuce bowl.

Yield: 6-8

4 Responses to Chicken Salad

  1. Mollie says:

    Wow…surprisingly I have all those ingredients, minus the celery here in Brazil. Celery is a rare thing to encounter. And I have these in my fridge. Of course, the grapes are with seeds, but I can de-seed them. Guess what I’m having for lunch!? I think I will try some plain yogurt instead of the mayo to reduce the fat content….

  2. dawn says:

    I’m definitely making these soon…there’s a deli near me that makes something similar but this looks even better that their version.

Leave a Reply

