MSC: Lemon Meringue Cupcakes

It is that time of the month… cupcakes’ time!!! Megan from My Baking Adventures chose Lemon Meringue Cupcakes on page 142.  I finally got an opportunity to make something lemony that I was hoping can brighten up these dready cloudy pseudo-spring days that we’ve been getting! I knew right away that I wanted to make the lemon curd, but I decided to skip the meringue frosting. Yea, yea I know… it wouldn’t be called lemon meringue without the meringue. I just ran out of time; so I decided to just make the lemon curd and used up the buttercream that I had leftover from my Wilton class 2.

The lemon curd was definitely a must; it made the cupcake “pop”–because it had such an intense lemon flavor.  The cake itself was a bit too dense for my taste; I prefer mine to be light and fluffy. But the combo between the cupcake, lemon curd, and the buttercream frosting (vanilla flavor, although I colored it to look like a mocha color) tasted like summer! Don’t forget to check out the other members’ creation here.

8 Responses to MSC: Lemon Meringue Cupcakes

  1. dawn says:

    I skipped the meringue too…I love to eat it..I just couldn’t cope with trying to make it yesterday. I love how the cupcakes look…very colorful and yummy!

  2. Carrie says:

    These look yummy.

  3. Jennifer says:

    I’m glad your Lemon Curd turned out, mine was a disaster! I took the Wilton classes a couple of years ago and I loved them, I hope you are enjoying them, too.

  4. Candice says:

    I also skipped the mergingue/seven minute. Seems the meringue may be best kept on the whole pie version! ;)Yours have a nice contrast with the “mocha” coloured buttercream.

  5. zx6karen says:

    I didnt do the meringue frosting either. Yours are so cute!

  6. Tracey says:

    I agree – the lemon curd was definitely the star here. I skipped the meringue too but I went with whipped cream. Your cupcakes look beautiful!

  7. Monica says:

    Piping takes a steady hand and practice. I loved the wilton courses and wished they had more. I loved the lemon curd and I really like the seven minute frosting. There is something fun about it. YOurs look great! Nice job.

  8. Mary says:

    I am really envious of your piping skills. I stumbled on your blog by chance and loved what I found here. I’ll be back often to visit.

Leave a Reply

