Wilton Course 2: Class 1

It has been a while, well seven months to be exact, since I took my first Wilton Course. It’s either I haven’t had availability to be in town for four weeks straight, or the class that I wanted to take was not offered.  I also haven’t decorated a cake since this delicious Beatty’s Chocolate Cake; so I was ready to get my hands dirty again with frosting.  

I did not purchase anything other than the second student’s kit. For our first lesson, we were only required to bring in one recipe of Wilton buttercream frosting  to class. We learned how to pipe shell and reverse shell borders. We also made three different kinds of flowers: rosette (medium consistency), half buds roses (stiff consistency), and chrysanthemum (medium-consistency).

We had to make a full recipe of buttercream frosting and we only used them to practice in class. Be prepared to have something to use up the leftover buttercream frosting from the class.

I did not have the tip for the chrystanthemum for the class (the store ran out of the student kits), so I decided to practice some on my own at home. I had a little bit of challenge getting my mums to be “flat”–they all came up a little bit higher than what the book looks. Red commented that it almost looked like pine cones, and I kind of agreed.  While I was at it, I decided to go ahead and make some roses as well for practice.  I can’t wait for the next lesson.

2 Responses to Wilton Course 2: Class 1

  1. […] It is that time of the month… cupcakes’ time!!! Megan from My Baking Adventures chose Lemon Meringue Cupcakes on page 142.  I finally got an opportunity to make something lemony that I was hoping can brighten up these dready cloudy pseudo-spring days that we’ve been getting! I knew right away that I wanted to make the lemon curd, but I decided to skip the meringue frosting. Yea, yea I know… it wouldn’t be called lemon meringue without the meringue. I just ran out of time; so I decided to just make the lemon curd and used up the buttercream that I had leftover from my Wilton class 2. […]

  2. This entry looks good. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

