Blueberry Crumb Cake

I have been wanting to make this cake for over a year!  Every time I look for something delicious to have for breakfast or a snack–I always think of this recipe, but then end up making something else. Finally, I bought a huge pack of blueberries; and decided that I would try this recipe. The only thing that I have to say for this recipe is that I don’t know why it took me this long to try this cake. My girl Ina, has proven to me one more time–that her recipe is a winner. This cake has that velvety custard cake on the base, with just enough hint of sweetness and fruity-flavor from the blueberry; topped with wonderful crunchy cinnamon-y flavor topping. It is great in the morning for breakfast or afternoon snacks in the afternoon. Happy eating!

Other recipes using blueberry that are equally delicious:
Blueberry Pie
Lemon Glazed Blueberry Scones
Blueberry Coffee Cake Muffins

Adapted from Barefoot Contessa at Home

Ingredients

For the streusel:
1/4 cup granulated sugar
1/3 cup light brown sugar, lightly packed
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/8 teaspoon ground nutmeg
1/4 pound (1 stick) unsalted butter, melted
1 1/3 cups all-purpose flour

For the cake:
6 tablespoons unsalted butter, at room temperature (3/4 stick)
3/4 cup granulated sugar
2 extra-large eggs, at room temperature
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
1/2 teaspoon grated lemon zest
2/3 cup sour cream
1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
1 cup fresh blueberries
Confectioners’ sugar for sprinkling

Directions
Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Butter and flour a 9-inch round baking pan.

For the streusel:
Combine the granulated sugar, brown sugar, cinnamon, and nutmeg in a bowl.
Stir in the melted butter and then the flour.
Mix well and set aside.

For the cake:
Cream the butter and sugar in the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment on high speed for 4 to 5 minutes, until light.
Reduce the speed to low and add the eggs 1 at a time, then add the vanilla, lemon zest, and sour cream.
In a separate bowl, sift together the flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.
With the mixer on low speed, add the flour mixture to the batter until just combined.
Fold in the blueberries and stir with a spatula to be sure the batter is completely mixed.
Spoon the batter into the prepared pan and spread it out with a knife.
With your fingers, crumble the topping evenly over the batter.
Bake for 40 to 50 minutes, until a cake tester comes out clean.
Cool completely and serve sprinkled with confectioners’ sugar.

10 Responses to Blueberry Crumb Cake

  1. Memoria says:

    Oh yeah. I love blueberry crumb cake and anything from Ina. I’m bookmarking this recipe right now. YUM!

  2. Eva says:

    mmmm I made blueberry crumb cake at a pastry class i took a while back but have not gotten around to posting about. It was so good, I remember using over a lb of butter in one pan. now I want to make another.

  3. Heather says:

    Oh wow. Thanks so much for posting this! I found you via tastespotting or foodgawker, I can’t remember which one. I made this cake tonight and it has to be the single most fantastic cake to ever come out of my oven. I have never made a better cake. This definitely goes in the make again file.

  4. Cherine says:

    Love this cake, it looks YUMMY!!

  5. AveryJohnson339 says:

    I’m trying to get your RSS feed but i’m getting an error. Please let me know when it’s ready, I love the site. Thank you! 🙂

  6. Mollie says:

    Could you follow this same recipe and substitute another type of berry or another kind of fruit? Like apples?

    • h2babe says:

      You should be able too w/ apple–you may want to dice the apple pretty finely to ensure that they’re cooked thoroughly. Not sure about strawberries or raspberries because they have higher water content, so may want to reduce the water.

  7. Mollie says:

    Can I use a regular hand mixer if I don’t have one with a paddle attachment?

  8. Mollie says:

    Just threw this one in the oven…had to improvise with my Brazilian ingredients again….no sour cream, but we have pasteurized creme de leite (we call nata), which is close to sour cream. It’s sweeter than sour cream, but same consistency. I only had whole wheat flour, too, so see how that does….It smells wonderful baking!!!!

Leave a Reply

