Chocolate-Almond Tart

DSC07390

Kate from Warm Olives & Cool Cocktails has been playing Santa all summer long by graciously giving away her 100+ cookbooks collection! Lucky me, I won another book from her about a couple of months. The rule is pretty simple, you need to leave comments on her blog, must be a food blogger, and you also must make ONE recipe within 30 days from the book if you win, of course! Eek.. I hate to say that I am very tardy on this one, but still, better late than never. There are so many good recipes in this chocolate book, but unfortunately, I have to really dig for a recipe that has ingredients that I can get locally. And we finally settled on this one. It’s like a chocolate pie, but with yummy short-bread like crust.

I had a hard time with the dough to form a ball initially, so I took the liberty on adding another egg yolk into the mixture. Maybe because I didn’t have the extra-large eggs, I figured, I might have needed a little bit more liquid in the mixture. After I rolled it out, I also had a hard time with the dough to remain in one sheet, so I picked up pieces of it, and smoothed it over with my fingers onto the pan. But after all of that, it turned out well. I also didn’t have any graham crackers at home, so instead I used about 1/4 cups of crushed vanilla wafers, and  I didn’t have any issue with it.

Wow… I was pleasantly surprised at how elegant this dessert turned out! It calls for simple ingredients, relatively quick to put together, and delicious! It also has a great presentation. Since they’re also like a bar, instead of a tart or pie, they are portable since they’re not too messy. I cut up into squares and Red and I had nice little treat to take to work that week!  Thanks Kate!!

Adapted from Chocolate Cakes, Cookies, Candies and More, published originally under the title Cioccolate & Co. 2005.

Ingredients

Crust
1-2/3 cups all-purpose flour
1/4 cup sugar
8 tbsp cold butter
2 large egg yolks, 1 tsp baking powder

Filling:
7 oz extra-dark chocolate
1/2 cup milk
1/3 cup sugar
3-4 graham crackers, crushed
1/4 cup almonds, coarsely chopped

Directions

Preheat the oven to 320 degree F. Place the flour and sugar into a bowl and quickly cut in the cold butter. When the mixture resembles a coarse meal, add the egg yolks, baking powder, and mix to form a compact dough.

Roll out the dough into a thin sheet. Line a 10-1/2 inc round tart tin with the dough, making a slightly thicker layer around the border. Refrigerate the crust for 30 minutes.

Meanwhile, melt the chocolate with the milk over a double boiler. Add the sugar and mix well to incorporate. Pour the chocolate mixture into the pastry crust and sprinkle with the crushed graham crackers and ch0pped almonds.

Bake the tart for 30minutes. Remove from the oven, cool completely and cut into squares.

Yield: 6-8 servings

One Response to Chocolate-Almond Tart

  1. katkat says:

    That looks amazing, tyhe perfect blog post.

Leave a Reply

