Chicken Fajita Omelet

DSC07338

One of my all-time favorite egg dishes is chicken fajita omelet; I almost always order this when we go out for breakfast.  In my pre-Red single-life days, I found myself making breakfast dishes over and over again for dinners–because they are delicious, and never fail me. I have never thought of making this at home, until recently I had a couple of cups of leftover cooked chicken to use up and I wanted to try something different. I decided to try making this at home and was surprised at how easy, and delicious this is. Omelet takes a little bit more time to prepare, than let’s say scrambled eggs, so this recipe may not be super ideal when entertaining a large crowd. What I have done in the past is make a giant omelet (in a 12-inch pan or larger), roll it, and then serve it sliced. Each guest can have 2-3 slices each, and than you add breakfast potatoes or other delicious baked goods. In the future, I may also try adding pickled jalapeno or fresh one for a little bit more of a kick. Try this, it adds a little spice to your breakfast!

Source: Blissfully Delicious original

Ingredients
1/4 cup chopped yellow or white onions
1/4 chopped green bell peppers
1/2 cup of cooked chicken breast, diced finely
2 teaspoon taco seasoning (or more, if you prefer stronger flavoring)
4-5 extra-large eggs, beaten well
1/4 cup of shredded cheddar cheese
A handful of sliced green onions
Sour cream, salsa, or guacamole (Optional, for serving)

Directions
Saute onions and green peppers. Add diced, grilled chicken breast.
Sprinkle with taco seasoning, blend well. Transfer to a small bowl, set aside.
Pour the beaten eggs onto a hot oiled pan. Let it set for a few minutes.
Add the omelet filling (from the bowl), sprinkle with green onion &; cheese, then fold.
Let it sit for another 1-2 minutes until it’s browned.
Remove from heat.
Serve with sour cream, salsa, or guacamole.

Yield: 2 servings (can be cooked in one big 8-inch pan, or made into two smaller personal size using 4-5 inch pan)

3 Responses to Chicken Fajita Omelet

  1. Eva says:

    looks delicious! i always seem to have something to use up in the fridge. so then i buy something to use up that, which leaves me with something else to use up. it’s a never ending cycle i tell you!

  2. Sara says:

    I woke up super late, and I’m glad. Welcome to my breakfast. This looks amazing!

  3. Cherine says:

    I would love to have this for breakfast! Your photos are mouth-watering!

Leave a Reply

