Dulce de Leche Ice Cream

DSC07273

After having fun making my own homemade (well… semi homemade) dulce de leche, I was ready to try my hand on making a homemade ice-cream with it. After searching in the internet for a recipe that looks ideal, I decided to try this one. One thing that I love about this recipe is that it doesn’t use raw eggs, so it is safe to serve to young kids or women who are expecting. However, at the same time, I was also a little bit worried about whether the absence of eggs would make the texture potentially grainy.

Fortunately, I was wrong! This ice-cream freezes beautifully and the flavor was out of the world. I love the subtle sweetness of the dulce de leche, and it has a perfect consistency: smooth and silky. I was pleasantly surprised at how successful the flavor was. I omitted the pecans from it, since both Red and I wanted to try this without the nuts. And we loved it! It was so delicious that I didn’t get to take a picture of it until our second batch. I hope you enjoy this as much as I did!

Adapted from Epicurious

Ingredients

2 cups whole milk
1 cup heavy cream
1 pound dulce de leche (about 1 2/3 cups; preferably La Salamandra brand)
1/8 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
3/4 cup chopped pecans (2 1/2 to 3 oz), toasted

Special equipment : an ice cream maker

Directions

Bring milk and cream just to a boil in a 3-quart heavy saucepan over moderate heat, then remove from heat and whisk in dulce de leche until dissolved. Whisk in vanilla and transfer to a metal bowl. Quick-chill by putting bowl in a larger bowl of ice and cold water and stirring occasionally until cold, 15 to 20 minutes.

Freeze mixture in ice cream maker until almost firm, then fold in pecans.

Transfer ice cream to an airtight container and put in freezer to harden, at least 1 hour.

One Response to Dulce de Leche Ice Cream

  1. dawn says:

    This looks so yummy. I’m off to get whipping cream now at the grocery store to make this!

Leave a Reply

