Chicken Fried Rice Noodles

lil noodles

I bought a bag of rice sticks noodle about a year or so ago, because I was shopping with a friend of mine, and she picked up several bags of these noodles. I had no idea how to make them, or had I ever tried to cook with them. As I was inspecting my pantry’s inventory, I ran across this bag. I grabbed this and casually told Red that we need to use this up sometimes or we’ll forget that it’s sitting there in the corner of the pantry. As I had expected it, when we were trying to figure out what to eat for lunch this past weekend, he said, “Let’s use up the rice sticks”.  Soon, I began my search for a simple recipe that doesn’t require a lot of unique ingredients, hopefully something that I can find in my pantry and  local grocery stores. I found this recipe that I thought would be a great starting point.

I made a little bit of tweaks in the seasoning sauce (see note below), and substituted the bean sprouts with thinly sliced red bell pepper (I used about 1 cup) because our grocery store ran out of it. I added the sliced red pepper quickly after the garlic was browned. Then I folded in the noodle, and sauce. It took me probably a little bit longer than what the recipe below said to stir fry, probably a total of five minutes before all of the sauce evaporated. I used two wooden spatula to toss the noodle back and forth in the wok to ensure that the noodles were cooked and seasoned thoroughly. For a few minutes, I was actually worried that all of the sauce will not evaporate, and I kept on thinking, this noodle should be dry! Thankfully, it finally dried up after a few extra minutes of high heat. We both enjoyed this very much, but were missing our bean sprouts, so next time, I will make sure that I grab some bean sprouts before making this dish again.

Adapted from Rasa Malaysia

Ingredients

1/2 pack rice sticks (8 oz)
2-3 cloves garlic (chopped)
1 big handful of fresh bean sprouts
3 stalks scallions (cut into 2-inch length)
1 boneless & skinless chicken breast (cut into small pieces)
1/2 teaspoon corn starch (to marinate the chicken)
4 tablespoons oil

Sauce

4 tablespoons soy sauce (Kimlan Light Soy Sauce)
1 tablespoon ABC sweet soy sauce
4 tablespoons water
1 tablespoon sugar
3 dashes of white pepper powder

Directions

Soak the rice sticks in warm water for 30 minutes or until they turn soft. Set aside in a colander to drain the excess water. Rinse the bean sprouts with water and set aside to drain excess water. Lightly coat the chicken meat with the corn starch (to tenderize the chicken).

Mix all the seasonings and water together and set aside. (At this point, I tasted this mixture and added several more dashes of white pepper and about several teaspoons of salt)

Heat up a wok and add in the cooking oil. Add in the chopped garlic and stir-fry until aromatic or turn light brown. Add in the chicken meat and stir fry until the chicken is half done.

Add in the rice sticks and then follow by the seasonings. Stir the rice sticks continuously to blend well with the seasonings. Continue to stir fry for 2-3 minutes or until noodles turn soft or no longer wet, then add in the bean sprouts and chopped scallions.  Stir-fry for another minute or until the bean sprouts are cooked.

Dish out and serve hot.

Yield: 3 generous servings

Leave a Reply

