Pumpkin Pie Hot Chocolate

DSC07290

I am one of those people whose always cold, even in the peak of summer… (and no, I am not a vampire!) In the colder months, I always warm up to cups and more cups of hot drinks. I usually go for my basic green-tea, but in the fall season, I usually crave for a little something special like this one. Red is usually the opposite of me, preferring something cold instead of warm, but he actually enjoyed this drink. If you love hot chocolate and anything pumpkin flavor, you should try this. And if you would like a little bit more caffeine kick, substitute the coffee granules with espresso granules!! This drink will warm up your soul! Happy Halloween!

Adapted from Group Recipes

Ingredient

1/4 tsp vanilla extract .
1 1/2 tbsps cocoa powder .
4 -1/2 c milk
1/4 tsp pumpkin spice .
2 1/2 tbsps sugar .
1/8 tsp almond extract .
2 tsps instant coffee powder

Directions

In a stove up, heat up the milk in a 2-quart sauce pan on medium low. When milk is warm, add the almond & vanilla extract. Stir.

Add the cocoa powder and whisk constantly until all of the coffee granules dissolve. Instant coffee powder and continue to whisk.

(At this point, I taste my drink and adjust some flavorings to taste. I added a couple of tablespoons of heavy cream for richness, and used Splenda instead of regular sugar).

Serve with homemade whipped cream.

Yield: 2

One Response to Pumpkin Pie Hot Chocolate

  1. livelaughlovecook says:

    I love pumpkin incorporated into anything, especially a steaming cup of hot chocolate!

    Looks great!

Leave a Reply

