Overnight Honey-Wheat Rolls

I love getting together with friends for a great meal.  There is something so soothing about having a great homemade meal surrounded by close friends.  I’m so lucky that my friends love my cooking and baking (…at least, in front of me they claim that they do!). They understand that I have this obsession with keeping a mental list of items that I’d like to make on the weekends. I usually know what I am going to bake when–and I usually have an idea of what I am going to make for a dinner party a few weeks ahead.

I have been singing the praises of homemade breads, and I have been wanting to make this overnight honey wheat rolls when I saw the recipe several weeks ago. The beauty of this recipe that it doesn’t require kneading (yey!!), but then it needs to sit overnight, which can work both to your advantages or disadvantage! It’s a huge advantage because you have one less thing to do on the day that you need them. But at the same time, you need to plan well, since this dough needs to rise overnight in a refrigerator.

DSC07228

These rolls turned out to be a crowd-pleasing when we brought these over to our friends’ house for dinner. They had a nice soft crisp skin in the outside with a nice texture inside, with just enough hint of honey. I forgot to cover these as soon as I made them into knots (and as a result they didn’t rise right away!). When I noticed that they didn’t rise, I covered them for about 45 minutes and they had a nice rise to them (not doubled as the recipe stated below). Everyone loved them, and we enjoyed them not only for dinner, but also for breakfast!

DSC07246

Adapted from Taste of Home Holiday-Thanksgiving 2009

Ingredients

1-1/4 cup warm water (110 to 120 degrees F)
1 package (1/4 ounce) active dried yeast
2 egg whites
1/3 cup honey
1/4 canola oil
1-1/2 cups whole wheat flour
2 -1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoons kosher salt
Melted butter, optional

Directions

In a small bowl, dissolve the yeast in a 1/4 cup of warm water. In a large bowl, beat egg whites until foamy. Add yeast mixture, honey, oil, salt, whole wheat flour and remaining water. Beat on medium speed for 3 minutes or until smooth. Stir in enough all-purpose flour to form a soft dough (dough will be sticky–and I had to add a tablespoon of water to make it moist, due to the humidity in my kitchen). Cover and refrigerate overnight.

Punch dough down. Turn onto a well-floured surface, divide in half. Shape each portion into nine-balls. To form knots, roll each ball into a 10-in rope; tie into a knot. Tuck ends under. Place rolls 2-inch apart on a greased baking sheets.

Cover and let rise until doubled, about 50 minutes. Bake at 375 degree for 10-12 minutes or until golden brown. Brush with melted butter if desired.

Yield: 1 to 1-1/2 dozens

2 Responses to Overnight Honey-Wheat Rolls

  1. thecookingnurse says:

    These look delicious, I will have to add them to the holiday menu!

  2. brannyboilsover says:

    I will add this to my “to make” list!

Leave a Reply

