The Apple Lady’s Apple Cake

Fall has officially been here for almost four weeks now–and I am surprised that I haven’t made anything with some sort of apples in it! Well, except the caramel apple that I made for Red a few weeks ago. But I took a shortcut and use those bagged caramel beads. Fall is definitely my favorite season of the year for so many reasons… the cooler weather, the changing leaves, and of course the abundance of apples, pears, pumpkins… and yes, I love them all.  My husband actually loves eating apples, while me… ehmm.. not so much. I love baking with them, and everything else–but I prefer other fruits for eating. But somehow he wasn’t crazy with the last bag that we picked up from the farmer’s market. Here I was looking at this bowl of apples every day sitting on the kitchen’s island, and he didn’t make any progress with consuming them! He finally told me to go ahead and find something to use these up. I said, no problemo!!

DSC07195

I was looking at so many recipes for apple before I landed on this one. I was surprised at how little flour it calls for. And all of the ingredients I already have in my pantry! Double bonus! Judging by the ingredients and the amount of batter, I made an assumption that this was going to be somewhere between a cake and a tart. I love cake, but sometimes it gets too heavy for me. And tart, it’s not enough for me. I figured this dessert might do it!

And yes, it did! I used a 10-inch spring form pan, since I didn’t have a 9-inch one, so it came out thinner than what the recipe originally called for. But oh my oh my! This dessert was not only stunning in presentation department, it is actually a perfect dessert for me! It has a nice texture of a light cake with caramelized sugar all around the edges and on top of the cake. It is DELICIOUS! Red whipped up a small bowl of heavy cream to put on the top as topping… and I was seriously in my own foodie’s heaven. I am sure that it will be delicious as well with ice-cream, vanilla frozen yogurt, or sweet fruit compote. It was so delicious that I told Red to go ahead and grab himself another slice, because I actually finished an entire slice of this cake all by myself! I may need to do another one this weekend with pears…yep, and that will be my next adventure!

DSC07207

Adapted from Food Network. Recipe courtesy of THE PARIS COOKBOOK (Harper Collins, 2001) by Patricia Wells

Ingredients

1/2 cup all-purpose flour
1/3 cup sugar
1 tablespoon baking powder
1/8 teaspoon fine sea salt
1/2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
2 large eggs, lightly beaten
2 tablespoons oil
1/3 cup whole milk
4 baking apples (about 2 lbs. total), cored, peeled, and cut into wedges

The topping
1/3 cup sugar
1 large egg, lightly beaten
3 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted

Ingredients

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees F.

Butter a 9-inch springform pan and set it aside.

In a large bowl, combine the flour, sugar, baking powder, and sea salt, and stir to blend. Add the vanilla extract, eggs, oil, and milk, and stir until well blended. Add the apples and stir to thoroughly coat them with the batter.

Spoon the mixture into the prepared cake pan. Place the pan in the center of the oven and bake until fairly firm and golden, about 25 minutes.

Meanwhile, prepare the topping: In a small bowl, combine the sugar, egg, and melted butter, and stir to blend. Set it aside.

Remove the cake from the oven and pour the topping mixture over it. Return the cake to the oven and bake until the top is a deep golden brown and the cake feels quite firm when pressed with a fingertip, about 10 minutes.

Transfer the cake pan to a rack and allow to cool for 10 minutes. Then run a knife around the sides of the pan, and release and remove the springform side, leaving the cake on the pan base. Serve at room temperature, cut into thin wedges.

One Response to The Apple Lady’s Apple Cake

  1. […] you still have abundance of apples to use, try these other dessert recipes: The Apple Lady’s Apple Cake Apple Crisp, Old Fashioned Apple Bundt Cake, Double Apple Pie Cake, Russian […]

Leave a Reply

