Pumpkin Patch Biscuits

My mom gave me a subscription of Taste of Home Holiday for my birthday earlier this summer. When I spotted this pumpkin batch biscuit recipe in its Thanksgiving edition, I knew that I had to make them! I love eating fresh flaky biscuits with honey drizzled on top, and this would have been even better since the pumpkin would add some sweetness to the biscuits. And I was right!

But… I do have a little confession here. Red actually offered to make them for me while I was laying down and finishing up with a novel that I couldn’t put down for two nights in the row! He made the entire recipe himself, and he later told me that he rolled the dough too thin, so he decided to stack a couple of the dough and bake them together! Aha! I couldn’t even tell. They were delicious! They were flaky and had enough hint of sweetness and savory all in one. We shared this with our friends who came over for brunch and they really enjoyed them as well.

DSC07146

Taste of Home Holiday–Thanksgiving 2009

Ingredients
1-3/4 cups all purpose flour
1/4 cup packed brown sugar
2-1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 tsp baking soda
1/2 cup plus 1-1/2 tsp cold butter, divided
3/4 cup canned pumpkin
1/3 cup buttermilk

Directions

In a large bowl, combine the flour, brown sugar, baking powder, salt and baking soda. Cut in 1/2 cup butter until mixture resembles coarse crumbs. Combine pumpkin and buttermilk, stir into crumb mixture just until moistened.

Turn onto a lightly floured surface, knead 8-10 times. Pat or roll out to 1-in thickness; cut with a floured 2-1/2 inc biscuit cutter. Place 1-in. apart on a greased baking sheet.

Bake at 425 degree for 18-22 minutes or until golden brown. Melt remaining butter; brush over the biscuits. Serve warm.

Yield: 12

4 Responses to Pumpkin Patch Biscuits

  1. Jessica says:

    Yum! I pretty much love pumpkin anything!

  2. Jessica says:

    These look great! I wish my husband would cook for me like that! You are a lucky girl!

  3. Mollie says:

    Wow! These seem simple, but sound SOOOOOOO yummy!

  4. Eva says:

    Stacking the dough is the best way to get biscuits that split perfectly! Those look great, he can come make them for me anytime 🙂

Leave a Reply

