Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

After my successful experience with the slow cooker last week, making this delicious Classic Pot Roast, I was ready to try another recipe in my slow-cooker. I was browsing a lot of recipes in some of my favorite sites, and stumbled upon this Pepper Steak recipe on Allrecipes. I wanted a recipe that doesn’t involve too much cream in it, still light but hearty–two components that are hard to get in one dish.

DSC07070

I tweaked this recipe a little bit to fit our taste. I used beef steak and cooked mine for about 6.5-7 hours. I really think that in the future, I can probably find a different type of meat that is a little bit less expensive. After all–that is the beauty of slow cooker, right? I threw in some Montreal Steak seasoning along with garlic powder while browning my sliced beef in the pan. I also reduced my soy sauce to 2 tablespoons instead of 3 and substituted it with Worcestershire sauce. Finally, I followed the advices from the comments on adding the sliced green pepper in the last 2 hrs of the cooking. I served this over a bed of cooked white rice. Not only that the house smelled so incredible when we walked into the house, this dish was delicious!

DSC07075

Ingredients

2 pounds beef sirloin, cut into 2 inch strips
garlic powder to taste
3 tablespoons vegetable oil
1 cube beef bouillon (I just used a can of beef broth)
1/4 cup hot water
1 tablespoon cornstarch
1/2 cup chopped onion
2 large green bell peppers, roughly chopped (I cut mine into strips)
1 (14.5 ounce) can stewed tomatoes, with liquid
3 tablespoons soy sauce
1 teaspoon white sugar
1 teaspoon salt

Directions

Sprinkle strips of sirloin with garlic powder to taste. In a large skillet over medium heat, heat the vegetable oil and brown the seasoned beef strips. Transfer to a slow cooker.

Mix bouillon cube with hot water until dissolved, then mix in cornstarch until dissolved. Pour into the slow cooker with meat. Stir in onion, green peppers, stewed tomatoes, soy sauce, sugar, and salt.

Cover, and cook on High for 3 to 4 hours, or on Low for 7-8 hrs.

Yield: 4 servings

One Response to Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

  1. […] my adventures my slow-cooker in the past few weeks or so, making this Classic Pot Roast, then this Pepper Steak.  Both times, it cranked out a wonderful meal that I don’t have to fuzz with when I got home […]

Leave a Reply

