Classic Pot Roast

My mom used to make a lot of our meals in her slow cooker when we were in High-School, but I just recently realized that I barely use my slow-cooker now at our house. I also associate slow-cooker with beef, which I don’t eat on a regular basis, this is probably why I don’t usually think of making my meals in a slow-cooker.  My dad is really a meat-and potato kind of guy, so a slow cooker is an ideal tool for mom so she can quickly put this together before she leaves for work, and it will be ready when we get home. 

Recently Red has been asking for a roast beef, and he has convinced me on how easy this would be to make in a slow-cooker. We just need to lay a bed of chopped veggies, throw some seasoning, broth, and a slab of meat, and let it cook all day. So this is ideal for any day, a weekend day where we spend all day catching up on chores, or week day when we’re at work and want something ready in the kitchen when we get home. I finally agreed on making this dish, thinking that it would save me some cooking time.

    I wanted a recipe that uses simple ingredients without any thickening agents from a can, so I settled on this recipe from AllRecipes that I thought had simple ingredients and easy to prepare–and didn’t involve any cream-based soup in it. I doubled the vegetables called in this recipe, added some shallots, rosemary and parsley seasonings to the beef. I also used chicken stock instead of water and cooked it for 8 hours. The meat was so tender, and we didn’t even need a knife to cut through it–and loved the heartiness of this dish! I think I am sold now on this concept of cooking more this type of dishes. I am going to find some more recipes using slow-cooker and see if we can get even more creative with our protein and selection! I hope you enjoy this as much as we did!

    DSC07042

    Adapted from AllRecipes

    Ingredients
    4 pounds chuck roast
    salt and pepper to taste
    1 packet dry onion soup mix
    1 cup water
    3 carrots, chopped
    1 onion, chopped
    3 potatoes, peeled and cubed
    1 stalk celery, chopped

    Directions
    Take the chuck roast and season with salt and pepper to taste. Brown on all sides in a large skillet over high heat.
    Place in the slow cooker and add the soup mix, water, carrots, onion, potatoes and celery.
    Cover and cook on low setting for 8 to 10 hours.

    Yield: 6 servings

    One Response to Classic Pot Roast

    1. […] After my successful experience with the slow cooker last week, making this delicious Classic Pot Roast, I was ready to try another recipe in my slow-cooker. I was browsing a lot of recipes in some of my […]

    Leave a Reply

