Baked Butternut Squash

When the weather started to get chilly this weekend, my shopping mood at the grocery store usually changes with the season as well. I also love picking up new ingredients that I don’t normally cook, to expand my taste bud’s adventure.

This time, I picked up a butternut squash that I had planned on using for a side dish I saw on a magazine. The main ingredient in this side dish was cranberry beans, and it looks delicious–with broccoli rabe, bacon, and dried cranberries. After hunting for cranberry beans for a few days and had no luck, I made an executive decision to switch gear and maybe just enjoy this squash on its own.

I have never done this before, but figured that I can just bake this in a shallow dish with water until it turns soft. Voila! So delicious! And aah… so simple. Red and I looked at each other and wonder why we don’t do this more frequently. Of course, this recipe won’t qualify as a “quick” dish, since you need at least a full hour in the oven, depending on how large your squash is. But we love how tender the flesh was, and how the crispy and saltiness of the bacon crumbles added such a nice contrast to the sweetness of the squash. Bon Appetit!

DSC06980

Ingredients
1 large butternut squash, about 2 lbs
Pepper & Salt to season
2 tbsp of butter
2 tbsp of crumbled cooked bacon

Directions
Slice squash lengthwise, and put them face side down on a shallow baking dish filled with 1/4 inch of water.
Season generously with pepper and salt.
Bake, covered in aluminum foil for about an hour at 350 degree, or until it’s soft.
When they are soft, mash it together with spoon, while trying to keep the shell intact.
Add butter, season with pepper and salt. Add topping of choice, mine was bacon. In the future, I thought about adding fried shallots. Yum!
Serve it in the shell.

Source: Blissfully Delicious

Leave a Reply

