Pistachio Gelato

I never tried gelato before until I went to Italy for the first time this past summer. I had always heard about it, and was ready to have my first introduction to these delectable frozen desserts! And… wow! If I knew what I had been missing out until then, I would have worked harder to get them here at home! Red and I easily spent $150 if not more on gelato during our 16-days trip to Italy. I had budgeted 10 Euro daily allowance for gelato during our trips. Some days when it was too hot to eat lunch, Red and I had an understanding that a couple of scoops of these frozen wonders would be acceptable as a meal.

So when we came back home, it wasn’t too long before we had our gelato withdrawal. Red and I quickly tried to find some basic gelato recipes that we could try using our new ice-cream attachment. It was very difficult to find one that didn’t contain any heavy cream. Gelato is supposedly made out of milk, sugar, egg yolks and some natural flavorings. This one that I found on Epicurious looked authentic, and we absolutely loved the recipe. I didn’t have any liquid food coloring, so I used a couple of very tiny drops of my Wilton color gel that I use for tinting frosting. Maybe next time, I would find a different food coloring.

The grounded pistachio also made this gelato very nutty, so next time, I would probably strain the nuts to make this recipe closer to the type that we found in Italy. But I think the recipe and flavoring were very authentic, and will make again for sure! If you love pistachios and ice-cream, this recipe is a must try!

P.S.: I promise, I will also post recipes other than frozen treats, I know I have been churning up all kind of ice-cream this summer. But they were SOOOO… good! And ice-cream is a staple at our house, all year long, even when it’s minus 30 degree outside!

DSC06976

Ingredients
3/4 cup unsalted shelled pistachios (about 3 3/4 ounces)
3/4 cup sugar
2 cups whole milk
1 teaspoon almond extract
5 large egg yolks
2 drops green food coloring

Directions
Finely grind 3/4 cup pistachios and 1/4 cup sugar in processor. Combine pistachio mixture, milk and almond extract in heavy medium saucepan. Bring to boil. Whisk yolks and 1/2 cup sugar in large bowl to blend. Gradually whisk milk mixture into yolk mixture. Return mixture to saucepan. Stir over medium-low heat until custard thickens slightly and leaves path on back of spoon when finger is drawn across, about 8 minutes (do not boil). Remove from heat. Whisk in food coloring. Refrigerate custard until cold, about 3 hours.

Process custard in ice cream maker according to manufacturer’s instructions. Transfer to covered container and freeze. (Can be prepared 1 week ahead. Keep frozen.) Scoop into glasses or bowls. Garnish with chopped pistachios.

Pistachio Gelato on Foodista

3 Responses to Pistachio Gelato

  1. Maryanna says:

    I love pistachios, and I love gelato. What a great combination!

  2. Erin says:

    This looks so good! I’ve never has pistachio gelato or ice cream, but I love pistachios, so I will have to try it!

  3. Karine says:

    I would probably indulge in gelato too if I go to Italy one day! Gelato is my fav iced dessert… so good! And your recipe sounds delicious!

Leave a Reply

