Barefoot Bloggers: Birthday Sheet Cake

I must admit, when I first saw the birthday sheet cake selection for the first Barefoot Blogger’s recipe in September, I was a little bit apprehensive due to the reviews on Food Network. Susy of Everyday Gourmet was celebrating a birthday, so Happy Birthday Susy!

DSC06945

I decided to make this recipe with a few tweaks… well, maybe more than a few. I figured that I needed some practice in my cake decorating skill that I picked up over the summer. I haven’t really decorated any more cakes since the class ended.

DSC06946

Here are my revisions:

1. I halved the recipe
2. I used an 8-inchx3 round pan, which I used for my Wilton classes
3. I used the bake spray that was recommended by my Wilton instructor instead of shortening, or butter and flour
4. I used 3/4 of baking soda instead of 1
5. I omit the lemon zest, because I didn’t feel like grating a lemon
6. I used the Wilton butter cream frosting recipe so I could decorate the cake, which I also used as a filling.

The verdict: the cake was just okay for me. A little bit in the dry side, but there was nothing special. For a cake made from scratch (from her, too!) I would have expected a lot more.

DSC06944

I probably will not make this again in the future.

DSC06949

7 Responses to Barefoot Bloggers: Birthday Sheet Cake

  1. BMK says:

    Your cake is absolutely beautiful. I’m with you 100% on your review of the cake.

  2. Velva says:

    That looks awesome! I have seen quite a few of the birthday sheet cakes for the Barefoot Bloggers and this one is very pretty. You brought the cake to a new level.

    • h2babe says:

      Thanks Velva. I am not crazy about the sheet cake and after I heard that it would be dry, I just thought I’d stack them up and put filling in the middle.

  3. Jessica says:

    Wow so beautiful! I really need to sign up for Wilton classes because I can’t even begin to make a cake like this! Lol

  4. vincent says:

    Hello,

    We bumped into your blog and we really liked it – great recipes YUM YUM.
    We would like to add it to the Petitchef.com.

    We would be delighted if you could add your blog to Petitchef so that our users can, as us,
    enjoy your recipes.

    Petitchef is a french based Cooking recipes Portal. Several hundred Blogs are already members
    and benefit from their exposure on Petitchef.com.

    To add your site to the Petitchef family you can use http://en.petitchef.com/?obj=front&action=site_ajout_form or just go to Petitchef.com and click on “Add your site”

    Best regards,

    Vincent
    petitchef.com

Leave a Reply

