Ben & Jerry’s Kit Kat Ice Cream

For one of my friends’ baby shower this past summer, I decided to whip up a batch of Kit Kat ice-cream. All of my other ice-cream recipes used eggs, so I thought that I would try one of the variation of sweet cream bases from my fave Ben & Jerry’s Homemade Ice Cream & Dessert book that did not use eggs.

Unfortunately, I had only tried the sweet-cream base that used eggs in my past ice-cream, and I was concerned about making something that I had never made before to a party. Secondly, the book says that the base version that  I was considering to make would not store well in home freezers, therefore we should be prepared to eat them all. Hmm… now that I think back, who would turn down an offer to polish off a homemade ice-cream?

Per Red’s recommendations, we tried this Kit Kat version. He convinced me that everyone loves Kit Kat, so if the sweet cream bases wasn’t good–well, they can at least enjoy the frozen Kit Kat, and a large gathering like this baby shower was a good place to try! And it was! It turned out delicious, and people did not miss the custard-based cream that we normally get in ice-cream using egg-yolks. This ice-cream was light and refreshing, with just enough hints of fun from the candy bits. In fact, Red loved this so much that he occasionally still drops me a hint that he didn’t get to eat enough of this ice-cream since he wanted to make sure everyone else at the shower had a taste. At least I am proud that he was considerate! 🙂

DSC06776

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Ingredients
4 Kit Kat candy bars (1.6 ounces each)
2 tsp vanilla extract
Sweet Cream Base Version 2 (See recipe below)

Directions
1. Using a sharp knife, cut the candy bars into bite-size pieces. Refrigerate in a covered bowl.
2. Prepare the Sweet Cream Base, adding the vanilla extract with the cream. Transfer to an ice-cream maker and freeze following the manufacturer’s instructions.
3. After the ice-cream stiffens (about 2 minutes before it is done), add the chopped candy, then continue freezing until the ice-cream is ready.

Yield: 1 generous quart

Sweet Cream Base-Version 2
2 cups heavy or whipping cream
2/3 cup half and half
3/4 sugar

Pour the ice-cream into a mixing bowl. Whisk in the sugar, a little at a time, then continue to whisking until completely blended, about 1 minute more. Pour in the half and half and whisk to blend.

One Response to Ben & Jerry’s Kit Kat Ice Cream

  1. Karine says:

    It looks to be a great ice cream! I always love to combo of a chocolate brand with ice cream :).

Leave a Reply

