Tomato Tart

I have always wanted a vegetable garden, but we don’t really have a good spot for it. Especially with my little gardener (shown below here, taking a nap after a hard day of work!) that constantly patrols the backyard, it is basically safe to say that I may not be able to have my own garden until I figure out  a way to protect these plants from her.

DSC06151

When my mom told me that she had planted about a dozen of tomato plants or so this summer, I was excited to be able to get some homegrown tomatoes from her! I had initially thought about making a tomato salad with fresh mozzarella drizzled with olive oil or balsamic vinegar, but wanted something a little bit more rustic and filling. So when I saw a recipe for a tomato tart in Martha Stewart Baking Handbook, I knew that I could use my tomatoes for this recipe!

DSC06926

This tart was surprisingly filling, while still relatively light & actually pretty healthy.   We didn’t have any salad or baguette to go with this salad, but I think in the future, it would have been perfect to have a nice green salad and or baguette to make this a complete meal. Red ate half of the pie before he left for his work trip overseas.  I think this may also work well as appetizers. What a perfect fall recipe… and versatile as well!

DSC06929

Ingredients
1 head garlic
3 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
All purpose flour for dusting
Pie Crust
3/4 cup grated Italian Fontina Cheese (~ 3 ounces)
1 1/2 cup ripe but firm tomatoes (about 4 med, sliced about 1/4 thick)
Coarse salt and freshly ground pepper
12 Fresh Basil Leaves

DSC06933

Directions
Pre-heat the oven to 350 deg F. Place the garlic on a piece of aluminum foil; drizzled with 1 tbsp of olive oil. Fold foil to encase the garlic; sealing edges well, and place on a small baking sheet. Roast in oven until golden brown and the tip of a paring knife easily pierces the flesh, about 45 min. Remove from the oven; set aside. When garlic is cool enough to handle, use your finger or the handle of a knife to squeeze the cloves out of their skins and into a small bowl; mash with a fork, and set aside. Discard the papery skins.

Fit the pie dough into a 10-inch fluted tart pan with a removable bottom, pressing into the edges. Using a rolling pin or a sharp paring knife, trim dough flush with the top edge of the tart pan; chill tart shell until firm, about 30 min.

Spread roasted garlic evenly on the bottom of the chilled shell. Sprinkle with 1/4 cup of the fontina cheese. Arrange sliced tomatoes in an overlapping circular pattern on top of the cheese; working from the outer edge toward the center. Season with salt and pepper. Sprinkle with remaining 1/2 cup of the cheese and drizzle with remaining 2 tablespoons of oil.

Raise oven temperature to 425 deg F. Bake tart until crust is golden and tomatoes are soft, but still retain their shape, 45 to 55 minutes. Cool on a wire rack for 20 minutes. Thinly slice basil leaves lengthwise. Sprinkle tart with basil and serve warm.

NOTE: I entered this recipe as a part of the Orange Kitchen’s Garden Veggie Roundup.  Check out what other domestic goddesses out there doing with the fruit of their vegetable garden this year!

veggieroundup

6 Responses to Tomato Tart

  1. apinchofthisandthat says:

    Yum! Now I want to grow my own tomatoes.

  2. […] Read the original: Tomato Tart « Blissfully Delicious […]

  3. Molly Jean says:

    This might be the ultimate summer recipe. I’m loving it! (cute dog too!!!)

  4. Karine says:

    I love the flavors of your tomato tart… it looks to be a great way to enjoy tomatoes!

  5. Jessica says:

    Your “Little” gardener is a gorgeous dog! And this tart looks delicious! I have been meaning to make a tomato tart, and I think you might have just convinced me!

  6. h2babe says:

    Thanks everyone, I was surprised at how it easy it was to make, yet delicious!!

Leave a Reply

