Vanilla Frozen Yogurt

Since I got my ice-cream maker attachment for our Kitchen Aid mixer, I have been churning up batches and batches of frozen treats. One of the recipes that I have been wanting to try my hands on was frozen yogurt. A couple of the recipes that I had seen all required whole-milk yogurt. Red and I had looked everywhere and could not find any! Isn’t that amazing! One evening, Red and I actually found ONE (I repeat, ONE container left) of Stonyfield Whole Milk Plain Yogurt. We grabbed it and quickly found this great vanilla frozen yogurt recipe from 101 Cookbooks, originally adapted from David Lebovitz’ the Perfect Scoop.

DSC06835

Oh my Lord, this frozen yogurt was so delicious, creamy, but light that I had to ask Red to remove the freshly churned frozen yogurt from my hand. What a winner! I definitely need to keep my eyes open when I do run into another whole-milk yogurt, which apparently is an exotic commodity in my area.

Ingredients
3 cups (720g) strained yogurt (see below) or Greek-style yogurt
3/4 cup (150g) sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla extract (optional)

Directions
Mix together the yogurt, sugar, and vanilla (if using). Stir until the sugar is completely dissolved. Refrigerate 1 hour.
Freeze in your ice cream maker according to the manufacturer’s instructions.

Note:
To make 1 cup (240g) of strained yogurt, line a mesh strainer with a few layers of cheese cloth. then scrape 16 ounces or 2 cups (480g) of plain whole-milk yogurt into the cheesecloth.  Gather the ends and fold them over the yogurt, then refrigerate for at least 6 hours. So, for the above recipe start with and strain 6 cups of yogurt (that’s 2 large-sized yogurt container you find at most grocery stores).

Makes about 1 quart.

3 Responses to Vanilla Frozen Yogurt

  1. Yummy! Can I come over for a cone or two?

  2. Sook says:

    Ooh my favoritest!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

