Ben & Jerry’s Banana Cinnamon Rum Ice-Cream

I had been eyeing this banana ice-cream since I first saw the recipe on the Ben & Jerry’s Dessert book. I first tried banana ice-cream at Coldstone Creamery three years ago, and I have been wanting to make my own version ever since. (Note: the more brown spots on the banana, the better. So here you go!)

DSC06730

The recipe is pretty simple, it uses the basic Sweet Cream Base recipe that I used in my Strawberry ice-cream recipe. And I just needed to add very ripened bananas. The only problem that I had with this recipe was that I thought that the cinnamon flavor was too much for the banana flavor. The version that I had tried at Coldstone had a nice subtle banana flavor, without the cinnamon. If you love Banana Foster though (and I do!), this would have been a perfect dessert for you.

DSC06759

Ingredients
Sweet Cream Base
Juice 1 lemon
2 overripe bananas

Directions
1. Prepare the Sweet Cream Base.
2. Transfer to an ice-cream maker and freeze following the manufacturer’s directions.
3. Mash the bananas and lemon juice together in a bowl, then whisk until smooth.
4. After the ice-cream stiffens (about 2 minutes before it is done), add the banana mixture.
5. Whisk 2 tablespoons ground cinnamon and 2 tablespoons rum, preferably dar, into the cream base just before transferring to the ice cream maker.
6. Then continue freezing until the ice cream is ready.

Makes generous 1 quart.

One Response to Ben & Jerry’s Banana Cinnamon Rum Ice-Cream

  1. Delicious ice cream!

Leave a Reply

