BB: Mango Banana Daiquiris

Veronica from Supermaket Serenade chose our first August recipe for the Barefoot Bloggers group. This Mango Banana Daiquiris was such a perfect drink for a warm August day and I was thrilled & were looking forward to try it this month. Unfortunately, neither Red nor I were very thrilled with the flavor of this drink, I don’t know why. We felt like maybe our mango wasn’t ripe enough? I’d be interested to hear what other people think!

I do must say though, the dark rum that I used in this recipe reminded me of Jamaica & that wasn’t a bad thing! Cheers!

DSC06797

Mango Banana Daiquiris
Serves 4

Ingredients
2 cups chopped ripe mango (1 to 2 mangos, peeled and seeded)
1 ripe banana, chopped
1/2 cup fresh squeezed lime juice (4 limes)
1/4 cup sugar syrup*
1 1/4 cups dark rum, such as Mount Gay
Mango slices, for serving

Directions
1. Place the mango, banana,  lime juice, sugar syrup, and rum in a blender and process until smooth.
2. Add 2 cups of ice and process again until smooth and thick.
3. Serve ice-cold in highball glasses with the mango slices.

*To make simple syrup, heat 1 cup sugar and 1 cup water in a small saucepan until the sugar dissolves.  Chill.

Mango Daiquiri on Foodista

4 Responses to BB: Mango Banana Daiquiris

  1. bmk says:

    Sorry you weren’t loving this one! It probably was a ripeness issue with your mango. I’m making it this weekend, but I’m using frozen mango.

  2. Eva says:

    too bad yours didn’t come out so well. it looks good. The key is having a really ripe juicy sweet mango so that’s probably it. I used frozen.

  3. Alisa says:

    This looks great.I’ve made daiquiris with mangoes before, but haven’t tried one with bananas.I’d love to try this one!I’d love to guide our readers to your site if you won’t mind.Just add your choice of foodista widget to this post and it’s all set, Thanks!

Leave a Reply

