Grilled Asparagus with Salt-Cured Ham

DSC06764

Kate from Warm Olives & Cool Cocktails has been playing Santa all summer long by graciously giving away her 100+ cookbooks collection! The rule is pretty simple, you need to leave comments on her blog, must be a food blogger, and you also must make ONE recipe within 30 days from the book if you win, of course! This was easy for me because I love reading her blog to begin with and was already leaving comments on various topics!

DSC06765

Lo and behold…I won this awesome Appetizers Finger Food Buffets and Parties book!! Somehow I missed her posts, with my crazy week (destination wedding of my friend Jess and Damian), then a few evenings where I was tied up with work! (Yuck, I know)!  Thankfully, I caught on her earlier posts… so here comes the big hefty 400+ pages gorgeous cookbook with all of the great recipes that will last me for a lifetime! Thanks Kate!!

DSC06769

Ingredients
6 slices of Serrano Ham (I used Prosciutto, but you can also use Portuguese presunto instead)
12 Asparagus Spears
1 tbsp olive oil
Sea salt and coarsely ground black pepper

DSC06772

(The picture above really doesn’t do a justice of how delicious this dish was, and how simple!)

Directions
1. Preheat the grill (broiler) to high.
2. Cut each slice of ham lengthwise in half and wrap one half around each of the asparagus spears.
3. Brush  the ham and asparagus lightly with oil and season to taste with salt and pepper.
4. Place on the grill rack. Grill, turning frequently but carefully with tongs, for 5-6 minutes, until the asparagus is tender but still firm. Serve immediately.

One Response to Grilled Asparagus with Salt-Cured Ham

  1. Kate says:

    Wow, thanks for the nice post and I LOVE what you’ve made. I’ve meant to make this type of asparagus again and again because every time I see it, it looks fantastic. I’m going to try it, for sure. How funny is that — I send you the cookbook, and I only cook from it *after* I give it away, and not while I have it?! Craziness.

Leave a Reply

